Jacques F. Vallee
professional works
Professional Works
fiction
Fiction
personal research
Personal Research


Au Coeur d'Internet

 

[Other Publications]

The Heart of the Internet
Au Coeur d'Internet
Electronic Meetings
Computer Message Systems
The Network Revolution
British edition of The Network Revolution
German edition of The Network Revolution
Swedish edition of the Network Revolution
Les Enjeux du Millenaire
The Four Elements of Financial Alchemy
Français d'Ailleurs Essai

Au Coeur d'Internet

Un Pionnier Français du Réseau examine son histoire et s'interroge sur l'avenir

Paris : Balland, 2004
Softcover, 364 pages

Now available (at no charge) on Google Books. Click on the image below to get the full text.

Ce qu'ils en disent:

Prenant pour base une profonde compréhension d'Internet et de ses origines, ce livre lance un grave avertissement. C'est un antidote qui vient à point après l'utopie naïve de la "bulle Internet" et les mesures d'étouffement des libertés privées qui sont prises actuellement par les multinationales et les gouvernements. Lisez ce livre et remettez tout en question: Internet ne restera une force pour la liberté que si vous contribuez à le sauvegarder.

Paul Saffo
Directeur à l'Institut pour le Futur en Californie

Parmi tous les livres qui traitent d'Internet, celui-ci se distingue car Jacques Vallée était présent dès l'enfance du réseau. Il compte parmi les pionniers importants, et ses réflexions sont attrayantes. Ses espoirs et sa vision, et les espoirs de ses collègues au SRI et à l'Institut pour le Futur, conduisirent au premier "Network Information Center" et à des méthodes révolutionnaires pour la communication de groupe. Son travail rendit possibles les interactions à grande échelle que l'on connaît aujourd'hui.

Paul Baran
Inventeur du "packet switching", père d'Internet

Lecture obligatoire pour quiconque s'intéresse à l'histoire, l'évolution et l'avenir de cette technologie qui change la forme même de notre époque, et dont la pleine réalisation est loin d'être atteinte. Le Dr. Jacques Vallée, un éminent informaticien qui était présent à la création d'Internet, contribue non seulement à l'information mais aussi à la compréhension de cet important débat.

Stephens F. Millard
De la Wharton School of Business
co-fondateur de quatre sociétés cotées au Nasdaq

Jacques F. Vallee
professional works
Professional Works
fiction
Fiction
personal research
Personal Research


Heart of the Internet

 

[Other Publications]

The Heart of the Internet
Au Coeur d'Internet
Electronic Meetings
Computer Message Systems
The Network Revolution
British edition of The Network Revolution
German edition of The Network Revolution
Swedish edition of the Network Revolution
Les Enjeux du Millenaire
The Four Elements of Financial Alchemy
Français d'Ailleurs Essai

The Heart of the Internet

An Insider's View of the Origin and Promise of the On-line Revolution

Hampton Roads hardcover, 2003
Illustrated - Bibliography - Index

Now available (at no charge) on Google Books. Click on the image below to get the full text.

Reader Comments:

Based on a deep understanding of the Internet and its origins, this book presents a compelling warning. It is a welcome antidote to both the naïve utopianism of the Internet bubble, and to oppressive liberty-quenching actions by global corporations and governments alike. Read this and take nothing for granted - the Internet will remain a force for freedom only if you help protect it.

Paul Saffo
Director, the Institute for the Future

Among the many books written about the Internet, this one has unusual merit because Jacques Vallee was there during the infancy of the network. It is fun to read his recollections as a key hands-on pioneer. His aspirations and visions, and those of his colleagues at SRI and the Institute for the Future, led to the first Network Information Center and to revolutionary ways of conducting group communications. This work made possible the large simultaneous interactions of today.

Paul Baran Inventor of packet switching

Obligatory reading for anybody interested in the history, evolution and future of this epoch-shaping technology, whose full promise has yet to be realized. Dr. Jacques Vallee, an eminent computer scientist who was present at the creation of the Internet, brings both knowledge and understanding to this important debate.

Stephens F. Millard
Co-founder of five Nasdaq companies,
Advisory Board member, the Wharton School and the
Kellogg School Member of the Board of Visitors,
National Defence University